bournemouthecho.co.uk

'He has got it right': Iraola praises ref Barrott for advantage in Kroupi goal

ANDONI Iraola praised referee Sam Barrott for his decision to play an advantage in the lead up to Junior Kroupi’s goal against Nottingham Forest on Sunday.

Barrott let the game carry on after Tyler Adams was clearly fouled by Elliot Anderson inside the centre circle.

Kroupi had collected the loose ball just after the foul, and, realising that he was charging in on the Forest defence, the referee signalled advantage as the 19-year-old carried the ball towards goal.

The decision to not bring the play back for the foul was then vindicated as Kroupi struck home from 30 yards, picking out the bottom corner and beating Matz Sels in the Forest net.

_(Image: Richard Crease)_

Asked about Barrott’s call to play on, Iraola said: “I asked for the foul. It was, I think a yellow card.

“He let it go and after we scored a goal. So in these kinds of plays, when they score the referee is happy because obviously they have to be neutrals, but it's like I've taken a good decision and it has been really an advantage.

“Sometimes they give you advantage because you still are on the ball. But it's not advantage because the free kick was more valuable without your position.

“But I think he has got it right.”

Read full news in source page