nbcsports.com

Tyree Wilson wasn’t fined for apparent hip-drop tackle that injured J.K. Dobbins

Broncos running back J.K. Dobbins believes the foot injury that has resulted in a stint on injured reserve happened on an illegal hip-drop tackle. The NFL didn’t see it that way.

Raiders defensive end Tyree Wilson was not fined by the league for the maneuver.

Here’s the play. It looks like a hip drop.

From the rulebook: “It is a foul if a player uses the following technique to bring a runner to the ground: (a) grabs the runner with one or both hands or wraps the runner with both arms; and (b) unweights himself by swiveling and dropping his hips and/or lower body, landing on and/or trapping the runner’s leg(s) at or below the knee.”

Often, a player escapes a hip-drop violation by not landing on the runner’s leg. Wilson clearly did. It’s not clear why no fine was issued. No flag was thrown on the play.

Read full news in source page