footballinsider247.com

Pgmol Insider: 'Doubt' surrounds Marc Cucurella handball in Chelsea v Leicester

Chelsea Leicester

Keith Hackett

Mon 10 March 2025 17:30, UK

Chelsea left-back Marc Cucurella was involved in a handball incident likely to create “doubt” for both players and officials during his side’s win over Leicester, Keith Hackett has said.

The former PGMOL chief and ex-FIFA official exclusively told Football Insider that he believes some referees would have given a penalty against the left-back late on in that victory against the Foxes.

Cucurella scored the only goal of the game to give Chelsea 1-0 win over Ruud van Nistelrooy’s side at Stamford Bridge on Sunday (9 March).

However, the Spaniard also survived a late claim against him for handball in his own area that could have changed the result significantly.

Leicester

Ruud van Nistelrooy saw his side denied a late penalty at Chelsea

Marc Cucurella involved in late penalty scare

Cole Palmer had missed a penalty as Chelsea fans took aim at manager Enzo Maresca over the attacker’s form during the first half of that game.

The hosts were then denied another penalty after the break when Pedro Neto went down after a challenge from James Justin inside the Leicester area.

MORE FOOTBALL INSIDER STORIES

The visitors would also be denied with a penalty claim of their own following an incident late on as they went in search of an equaliser.

Marc Cucurella vs Leicester Total (as per SofaScore)

Goals 1

Successful Passes 36/42

Successful Duels 3/5

Clearances 6

Interceptions 1

As a high ball went into the Chelsea area, Cucurella attempted to clear the ball, hooking it back away from Bobby Decordova-Reid.

In doing so though, the Spaniard then caught the ball with an outstretched arm as he slid to ground, leading to appeals for a spot-kick from Leicester.

Referee Tim Robinson though did not point to the spot, and Hackett believes this is an incident that could split opinion among many.

Keith Hackett comments on Leicester penalty pleas vs Chelsea

Speaking to Football Insider about whether Chelsea could have conceded a penalty here through Cucurella, the former referee said:

“I don’t think I’d be giving a penalty kick for that. I think this is the element of the handball law that is so subjective that it creates doubt in the player’s mind and in referee’s minds in relation to that, this deflected ball and the position of the body.

“What they’re actually saying is ‘(it’s) a deflected ball, and he can’t get his hands out of the way, and here what we’ve got is a falling action, we can’t read the mind of the player’.

“I’m not giving it… but there are some referees who would give it”.

Following that win, Chelsea sit fourth in the Premier League table, while Leicester remain 19th in the standings, six points from safety.

Related Posts

Read full news in source page