MANCHESTER, ENGLAND - MARCH 9: Alejandro Garnacho of Manchester United in action during the Premier League match between Manchester United FC and Arsenal FC at Old Trafford on March 9, 2025 in Manchester, England. (Photo by Ed Sykes/Sportsphoto/Allstar via Getty Images)
Alejandro Garnacho was at the centre of the incident
Manchester United have been told that they were unfortunate NOT to be playing against 10 men in their 1-1 draw with Arsenal on Sunday.
A second half incident involving Alejandro Garnacho and Arsenal's makeshift centre-forward Mikel Merino, seemed innocuous enough at first - although it did leave United's young Argentine winger on the deck.
But after Merino and Casemiro battled for possession, replays showed that the Euro 2024 winner had stepped down the back of Garnacho's leg.
While similar actions have led to red cards for other players, former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher conceded it looked bad but didn't warrant a sending off.
[
Sir Jim Ratcliffe reveals how soon he believes Man Utd can win Premier League again](https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/jim-ratcliffe-man-utd-premier-34834446)
Speaking on Sky Sports' Ref Watch, he said: "I think the referee, if he is going to give anything, would be a yellow card.
"It doesn't look good but I don't think it is a red card. You see Casemiro gives him a kick as well, so he gets booted by two players.
"It is unfortunate that the ball gets tangled up but sometimes it is almost best for the referee in that situation [to let play continue]. What does help Garnacho is that Merino stands on his boot and not his ankle."
Alejandro Garnacho is caught by Mikel Merino during Manchester United's clash with Arsenal in the Premier League
Alejandro Garnacho is caught by Mikel Merino during Manchester United's clash with Arsenal in the Premier League ( Image: Sky Sports)
Arsenal also believed they deserved a penalty when pushing for a goal after Ayden Heaven's arm made contact with the ball in the box. However, Gallagher dismissed these claims.
"He heads it onto his own arm and then goes to clear the ball but not a penalty, it can't be given for that," he insisted.
"Nobody will give a penalty for that."
Join our new MAN UTD WhatsApp community and receive your daily dose of Manchester United content from Mirror Football. We also treat our community members to special offers, promotions, and adverts from us and our partners. If you don't like our community, you can check out any time you like. If you're curious, you can read our Privacy Notice.