nottinghamforest.news

When Nottingham Forest got away with a double-touch penalty to anger Arsene Wenger amid…

Nottingham Forest might have had a slight stronger relationship with referees this season but today, the same can’t be said for Atletico Madrid and Diego Simeone.

Los Rojiblancos exited the Champions League last night losing for a sixth time to their city rivals Real Madrid in European competition as their curse goes on.

This defeat will hurt Simeone. After winning the game 1-0 to make it 2-2 on aggregate, the game was marred by the decision from VAR to rule out Julian Alvarez’s spot kick in the shootout, despite replays proving inconclusive regarding a double touch.

Last season, the Reds had some rotten luck with match officials. Evangelos Marinakis saw Forest fined £750,000 after an unsavoury post on social media aimed at the VAR following a 2-0 reverse at Everton in April.

Earlier this season, Forest head coach Nuno Espirito Santo was given a touchline ban. However, with the team in third place, the mistakes of detriment to Forest have seemed far more infrequent.

It’s worth remembering, however, that Forest have actually found themselves on the right side of the law on occasions in the past.

Photo by Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images

Photo by Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images

Kieran Dowell double-touch for Forest vs Arsenal angered Arsene Wenger

In 2018, Forest dumped Arsenal out of the FA Cup 4-2 with Arsene Wenger left to rue his decision to play a vastly weakened team – and a lack of VAR!

Dowell struggled at Derby after leaving Forest to return to Everton, but in large, he proved a pretty useful loan player during his time at the City Ground.

MORE FOREST STORIES

With the scores locked at 3-2 with just five minutes remaining, Dowell had the chance to wrap things up for Forest from the penalty spot and duly obliged.

Much like Alvarez last night, however, Dowell slipped with Arsenal players – and Wenger who was watching from the stands – left to protest that the goal should be disallowed.

With no VAR in the FA Cup back then, referee Jon Moss went over to his assistant before awarding the goal much to the delight of the sell-out crowd.

Wenger looked furious in the stands as he served a touchline ban for his criticism of referees and the decision by Moss to award Dowell’s goal didn’t see the officials enhance their relationship with the Frenchman.

Replays did in fact show that Dowell kicked the ball twice and thankfully, Forest managed to be on the right side of a Moss error.

IFAB to look at penalty law after Atletico Madrid exit Champions League

It’s hard to imagine losing your place in a competition like the Champions League based on a dated and somewhat flawed law.

Understandably, this law exists as when a penalty is taken in a normal game of football it’s imperative that the ball is only touched once by the taker.

However, in a shootout, if a goalkeeper comes off his line to make a save, he gets to face the penalty again, yet Alvarez – or any taker who touches the ball twice simply has the penalty chalked off and that doesn’t make sense.

IFAB have come out and issued a statement today saying that things will be looked at from next season – but that might be too late for other clubs and it’s already cost Atletico their chances of winning the Champions League.

Forest head coach Espirito Santo will be thankful that his players have been good at penalties this season and hopefully a slip and a possible double touch won’t impact them between now and the end of the campaign.

Read full news in source page