footballinsider247.com

Keith Hackett: Patrick Dorgu 'exaggerated' to win Man United penalty

Man United

(Credit: TNT Sports)

Keith Hackett

Fri 14 March 2025 7:00, UK

Patrick Dorgu was “clever” in earning a penalty for Man United in their Europa League clash with Real Sociedad, Keith Hackett has said.

The former PGMOL chief and ex-FIFA official exclusively told Football Insider that referee Benoit Bastien will have had no doubt in awarding a spot to the wing-back.

Dorgu was one of a number of Man United players who impressed as the club secured their place in the quarter finals of the Europa League at Old Trafford on Thursday (13 March).

A 4-1 win over Real Sociedad gave Ruben Amorim‘s side a 5-2 victory on aggregate over the Spanish side, setting up a clash with French outfit Lyon in the last eight.

Keith Hackett on Patrick Dorgu penalty award for Man United vs Real Sociedad

Patrick Dorgu helps Man United to Real Sociedad win

After a first half that saw both Real Sociedad and Man United awarded penalties, Dorgu would win a second for the hosts just moments after the break.

With the score locked at 1-1, a shot was parried into the path of Dorgu, who then took a step forward before stepping into the path of Aritz Elustondo and going to ground after contact with the defender.

Patrick Dorgu vs Real Sociedad Total (as per SofaScore)

Shots on Target 1

Shots off Target 3

Clearances 2

Tackles 2

Successful Dribbles 1/1

Successful Passes 26/34

MORE FOOTBALL INSIDER STORIES

That then led to Bastien pointing to the spot again, after which Fernandes would convert to put Man United in front with his second penalty of the night.

Now Hackett has suggested that Dorgu may have made the most of the contact on him in order to win the penalty.

Even so, he still feels the decision to give the spot kick to Amorim’s side was the correct one.

Keith Hackett reacts to more Old Trafford penalty drama

Speaking to Football Insider about that second penalty of the game awarded to Man United, the former referee said:

“The Man United player has been very clever in making contact with the defender and exaggerating his fall. It closes off any doubt in the match officials awarding a penalty kick.

“Defenders in this situation have to be aware of the risk of any form of contact inside the penalty area.”

Ten minutes after that penalty was scored, Dorgu further helped his side when he was brought down by Jo Aramburu, with the Real Sociedad defender sent off for denying a goalscoring opportunity.

United were later awarded another penalty after a challenge by Hamari Traore, which was then overturned by VAR after the Sociedad man was shown to make contact on the ball first.

Replays also showed that Dorgu himself had informed the referee it should not have been a penalty, which Amorim admitted left him “quite proud”.

Ruben Amorim says he is ‘quite proud’ of Patrick Dorgu for telling the officials it was not a penalty (third) for Man Utd tonight. Says he doesn’t know if he would feel the same if it was 0-0 at the time.

— Simon Stone (@sistoney67) March 13, 2025

View Tweet

The Man United did however also concede that he may have felt differently had the game been locked at 0-0.

Late goals from Bruno Fernandes, to complete his hat-trick, and Diogo Dalot would then confirm the win on the night and in the tie for Man United.

Related Posts

Read full news in source page