firstpost.com

Explained: UEFA to rethink penalty rule after Julian Alvarez controversy rocks Champions League

UEFA is set to review the penalty kick rule after Julian Alvarez’s controversial disallowed penalty in Atletico Madrid’s Champions League clash against Real Madrid. The debate over the unintentional double touch has sparked discussions on whether the rule needs revision.

read more

UEFA is set to discuss a potential revision of the penalty kick rule after a controversial incident in the Champions League Round of 16 clash between Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid on Thursday. The debate arose when Atletico’s Julian Alvarez had his penalty disallowed for an unintentional double touch, leading to widespread debate over the fairness of the rule.

What happened?

The drama unfolded during the penalty shootout after a 2-2 aggregate draw between the Spanish rivals. Alvarez stepped up as Atletico’s fourth penalty taker and appeared to convert it successfully. However, the Video Assistant Referee (VAR) intervened, ruling that he had accidentally made slight contact with the ball using his standing foot before striking it with his right one.

Advertisement

As per Article 14.1 of the IFAB (International Football Association Board) laws, a penalty taker “must not play the ball again until it has touched another player.” Since Alvarez technically touched the ball twice, as claimed by VAR after reviewing the inconclusive video, the goal was disallowed.

Real Madrid went on to win the shootout 4-2, knocking Atletico out of the 2024-25 Champions League. Atletico Madrid’s manager Diego Simeone expressed his frustration, claiming he had never seen VAR intervene for such an incident and questioning whether the double touch was truly evident. Fans echoed similar sentiments, criticising the decision to overturn the penalty goal.

The whole world can't see Julian Alvarez touching the ball on both feets but why on earth VAR decided it in just 10 seconds?. They also never bothered showing the actual footage of the incident.

Ridiculous!! pic.twitter.com/75S7qw9EUm

— A.K. Hussein ❤🇸🇴🇸🇴 (@AKH1532) March 13, 2025

Why is this rule being reviewed?

While the rule has existed for years, this was a rare instance where VAR was used to overturn a penalty goal for an unintentional double touch, and that too, in such a crucial knockout game. Given the minimal contact if any and lack of clear intent, UEFA acknowledged the controversy and stated it would consult with FIFA and IFAB to assess whether the rule should be modified.

Advertisement

In a statement, UEFA clarified:

“Atlético de Madrid enquired with UEFA over the incident, which led to the disallowance of the kick from the penalty mark taken by Julián Alvarez at the end of yesterday’s UEFA Champions League match against Real Madrid,” the statement read.

“Although minimal, the player made contact with the ball using his standing foot before kicking it, as shown in the attached video clip. Under the current rule (Laws of the Game, Law 14.1), the VAR had to call the referee signalling that the goal should be disallowed.”

“UEFA will enter discussions with FIFA and IFAB to determine whether the rule should be reviewed in cases where a double touch is clearly unintentional,” it concluded.

pic.twitter.com/HPmpHmJQMq

— A (@RmaFPL) March 13, 2025

Advertisement

UEFA Champions League 2024-25 quarterfinal ties

The Champions League quarter-finals are set for 8-9 April, with second legs on 15-16 April. The final is scheduled to be played on 31 May at Munich’s Allianz Arena.

Bayern Munich vs Inter Milan

Arsenal vs Real Madrid

Barcelona vs Borussia Dortmund

Paris Saint-Germain vs Aston Villa

More from Football

End of Article

Read full news in source page