football.london

Real Madrid vs Atletico replay claim made amid penalty drama and Arsenal wait

Arsenal will see their 2024/25 season defined by a Champions League tie against Real Madrid, but that could still stunningly change. The Spanish giants beat their bitter rivals Atletico Madrid in a controversial last-16 penalty shoot-out after drawing 2-2 on aggregate.

Conor Gallagher scored the only goal of the second leg after just 27 seconds, and minus a missed Vinicius Jr penalty, there was limited action in the following 119 minutes. Spot-kicks were subsequently required with Julian Alvarez the only player to miss from 12 yards, however he actually found the back of the net.

The Argentine slipped as he struck the ball and it just about flew under the bar, but the referee disallowed the penalty for a double touch after an intervention from VAR. Despite multiple angles of the penalty, it is not wholly clear that Alvarez actually touched the ball with his standing foot first.

In the aftermath of the incident, UEFA released a statement that read: "Atlético de Madrid enquired with UEFA over the incident, which led to the disallowance of the kick from the penalty mark taken by Julián Alvarez at the end of yesterday’s UEFA Champions League match against Real Madrid.

"Although minimal, the player made contact with the ball using his standing foot before kicking it, as shown in the attached video clip. Under the current rule (Laws of the Game, Law 14.1), the VAR had to call the referee signalling that the goal should be disallowed.

"UEFA will enter discussions with FIFA and IFAB to determine whether the rule should be reviewed in cases where a double touch is clearly unintentional." Since then it has been claimed that the governing body will enter discussions with FIFA and IFAB (International Football Association Board) to review that rule.

The image used to make the final decision has since also been revealed with beIN Sports' Richard Keys going on quite the rant which saw him recommend Atletico demand answers.

He said: "Why didn't we see that [image] on the night? Where did they get it from? I don't know. They have gone on to say they're now looking at changing the laws. They're trying to get us to stopping talking about. There is no way in the world that that [double-touch] effected the kick in any way and it shouldn't have been disallowed.

"If I'm the owners of Atletico Madrid, I am going to court to at least get this talked about. They won't probably get a replay, but I want a replay because that is a terrible decision. This should not be brushed under the carpet. Talking about a change of laws is designed to get us to start thinking about that prospect."

His fellow presented Andy Gray dismissed the suggestion of a replay and while it is extremely unlikely that will take place, until clear clarification is provided, there is a slim chance Atletico get another shot at reaching the last eight.

Join the football.london Arsenal WhatsApp channel

Arsenal Manager Mikel Arteta, Bukayo Saka, Martin Odegaard and Gabriel Jesus with the Arsenal Therapy Dog Win during the Arsenal Men's team group shoot at London Colney on September 18, 2023

Join our Arsenal WhatsApp channel and get all the latest breaking news, opinion, podcasts and in-depth stories from football.london's dedicated Arsenal writers straight to your phone!

By following this free service you will be the first to know the news from the Emirates Stadium as it happens, when it happens.

To join our dedicated Arsenal channel, all you have to do is click this link and you can join thousands of others following our Gunners coverage!

If you're curious, you can check out our privacy policy here.

Read full news in source page