barcablaugranes.com

‘I made a mistake’ - Lahoz makes confession about error that cost Barca title

![FC Barcelona v Club Atletico de Madrid - La Liga](https://cdn.vox-cdn.com/thumbor/5x8cFUvD7kjNoswNSPAXEhVnE3Q=/0x0:4256x2832/1200x800/filters:focal(1628x320:2308x1000)/cdn.vox-cdn.com/uploads/chorus_image/image/73966714/491773563.0.jpg)

Former referee [Mateu Lahoz has admitted he got it “wrong” back](https://www.barcablaugranes.com/2023/2/28/23618472/cesc-fabregas-refereeing-decisions-took-a-league-title-away-from-me-with-barcelona) in the 2013/2014 season when he took charge of the now infamous game between Barcelona and Atletico.

The Catalans missed out on being crowned champions due to a controversial refereeing decision in the game by Lahoz.

The referee disallowed a goal by Lionel Messi (that would have handed the title to Barcelona) due to an offside. The only thing was the ball came to Messi via Juanfran Torres rather than Cesc Fabregas.

Lahoz has now admitted he messed up and that the goal should have stood.

”I made a mistake. There was a play that we were able to see later that Juanfran didn’t touch, but from my position it was impossible to tell if Cesc touched it.

“I would have bet my 20 fingers that Cesc had touched that ball. That play was about team synergy and I’m the only one responsible.”

Read full news in source page