liverpoolecho.co.uk

Trippier handball, disallowed goal, Chiesa VAR overturn - Liverpool vs Newcastle referee review

Alexis Mac Allister remonstrates with the referee during Liverpool's 2-1 Carabao Cup final defeat against Newcastle.

Alexis Mac Allister remonstrates with the referee during Liverpool's 2-1 Carabao Cup final defeat against Newcastle.

Liverpool suffered a 2-1 defeat in the Carabao Cup final against Newcastle United. For the Magpies, they ended their 56-year wait for a trophy but, in doing so, forced the Reds to relinquish their control over the competition.

Throughout the match, there were some talking points, including penalty appeals from Liverpool for a handball by Kieran Trippier, which went unpunished, as well as a cynical challenge from Joelinton late on, leaving Harvey Elliott in a heap on the floor.

Ultimately, Arne Slot's side ran out of steam and they were overran by a dogged and determined Newcastle team, denying the Dutchman his first piece of silverware at Anfield. Dan Burn and Alexander Isak were on target with the Magpies running out deserved winners.

Related Articles

Liverpool player ratings as Mohamed Salah and five more terrible in Carabao Cup final loss

Arne Slot denied it but Liverpool now can't after being bullied and battered in Carabao Cup final

Federico Chiesa offered a lifeline late on, despite a prolonged intervention from the Video Assistant Referee, but it was too little, too late for the Reds. John Brooks was the man in the middle at Wembley as the ECHO assess the big talking points from the capital;

Kieran Trippier handball

With any handball decision, or non-decision, comparisons are made between whether it would be given in the Premier League or in Europe. During the commentary of the contest, the consensus was it was a call that would have been made in Liverpool's favour in Europe, but 'it's not one you want to see awarded against you'.

Dominik Szoboszlai spotted Luis Diaz's bursting run behind the back-line and, as he challenged Trippier, the ball brushed the hand of the England international after bouncing up from his control. Liverpool appealed, it was checked and cleared by VAR and play continued; moments later, Burn evaded Alexis Mac Allister and powered a header home to break the deadlock.

The ECHO review: While it wasn't as clear as that handball incident during Liverpool's encounter with Arsenal last season, which saw Martin Odegaard handle the ball as he went to ground, there were solid grounds for an appeal. The suggestion was Trippier's hand was outstretched naturally, after trying to maintain his balance after a full-sprint with Colombian.

Under the categories, it could probably be filed under as 'seen them given'. However, experts in the studio were in agreement that there was no deliberate infringement, despite Trippier earning an advantage with the action.

The ECHO verdict: Brooks made the right decision, ultimately. As bitter as it would be for any Liverpool supporter to digest, the action does not appear to be deliberate.

Kieran Trippier appears to handle the ball during Liverpool's Carabao Cup final with Newcastle. (Image: Sky Sports Football/YouTube)

Disallowed Newcastle United goal

Liverpool started a lot better in the second half, but Newcastle managed to wrestle the stronghold back in their favour. Shortly after the restart, the Magpies had the ball in the back of the net yet again.

With the nightmare of Burn's header still fresh in their memory, the focus was on whether Mac Allister would be marking the towering centre-back yet again. He was, but Tripper curled towards the back post towards Joelinton who nodded down for Burn to steer goal-wards.

It ricocheted off the Newcastle defender and two red shirts before Caoimhin Kelleher parried into the path of Isak. However, it was ruled out for offside.

The ECHO review: The initial feeling was that Isak was in an offside position with Ryan Gravenberch the furthest Liverpool man back. However, to spare the blushes of yet another poorly defended corner, Bruno Guimaraes was adjudged to have infringed the Republic of Ireland international.

Guimaraes was stood in front of the goalkeeper forcing him to save round his presence, parrying at the feet of the Sweden striker who slotted in on the rebound.

The ECHO verdict: It was the correct decision from the assistant referee and the VAR team in Stockley Park.

Bruno Guimaraes was deemed to be interfering with play - which saw a Newcastle goal ruled out. (Image: Sky Sports Football/YouTube)

Federico Chiesa VAR wait

With eight minutes added on and Newcastle edging closer a long-awaited trophy, there was plenty of time for some nervousness to sweep across the jubilant fans. Elliott won the ball in the middle of the pitch and threaded through Chiesa who raced through to fire the ball beyond Nick Pope.

However, the joy was short-lived as the assistant had his flag raised for offside. After a two-minute review, it was found that the Italian was onside, but there were further checks for possible infringements in the build-up.

The ECHO review: It became quite clear upon a second look that Chiesa was onside. The Italian looked bemused after the interval with a chaotic check - and it allowed Brook to explain his decision over the tannoy to supporters.

The delay was down to a check during the attacking possession phase (APP) but, eventually, it was found that the goal should stand.

The ECHO verdict: Correct decision, Fabian Schar was the furthest player back and Chiesa hadn't strayed offside.

Federico Chiesa was initially ruled offside after scoring for Liverpool. (Image: Sky Sports Football/YouTube)

Read full news in source page