liverpoolecho.co.uk

Liverpool receive new Kieran Trippier handball penalty verdict after Newcastle Carabao Cup final

Latest Liverpool news after the Carabao Cup final defeat to Newcastle United with Kieran Trippier avoiding punishment for a handball

Liverpool were not awarded a penalty despite a handball by Kieran Trippier

Former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher has explained why Kieran Trippier was not penalised for a handball during the Carabao Cup final between Liverpool and Newcastle United. The incident arrived in the first half when Luis Diaz was jostling with Trippier for possession and the ball bounced up and struck the latter's hand.

Appeals from Liverpool came from all over the pitch, but referee John Brooks did not see it as a penalty with VAR in agreement. On Sky Sports, former Manchester United defender Gary Neville also weighed in on the decision and revealed he thought an alternative outcome would have been reached in a different competition.

"It definitely hit Trippier's hand, we can see that from up here," he said. "VAR is saying his arms are out for balance, which takes it away from Diaz.

READ MORE: Arne Slot gives honest verdict on Diogo Jota and Darwin Nunez displays in Liverpool lossREAD MORE: Jamie Carragher makes Arne Slot Liverpool claim - 'come back to bite him'

"In Europe, I think it is probably given as a penalty." Gallagher has now provided his verdict on the handball controversy with it clear he was of the belief the right decision was made.

"Not handball for me. As regards to Europe, Newcastle know all about penalties in Europe having been knocked out last year," he admitted on Sky Sports' Ref Watch.

"Trippier is running, it's his running motion. It strikes, no doubt about that. But that's all it does, it strikes him. If at the end of the game, you can't remember the incident, that tells the story." Stephen Warnock added: "It didn't really even stick out in my mind that would be even looked at as a potential penalty."

While the decision may have impacted the game in that moment, Newcastle were more than worthy winners with a late Federico Chiesa goal not enough to take the game to extra-time after strikes from Dan Burn and Alexander Isak.

Read full news in source page