liverpoolecho.co.uk

Liverpool handed final referee penalty verdict after Kieran Trippier flashpoint vs Newcastle

Liverpool were beaten in their Carabao Cup showpiece with Newcastle United on Sunday afternoon.

Comments

Sport

Kieran Trippier in action at Wembley.

Kieran Trippier was one of the standout performers for Newcastle United in their win over Liverpool.

(Image: Photo by Charlotte Wilson/Offside/Offside via Getty Images)

Liverpool have received a fresh referee verdict on Kieran Trippier's handball incident during Sunday's Carabao Cup final at Wembley Stadium. Arne Slot's side ended a bitterly disappointing week - in which they were knocked out of the Champions League on penalties by Paris Saint-Germain - with a poor showing and 2-1 loss in the showpiece against Newcastle United.

Eddie Howe's side made history as Dan Burn and Liverpool-linked Alexander Isak led them to the club's first piece of domestic silverware in 70 years. The Reds, on the other hand, were given a glimmer of hope when substitute Federico Chiesa pulled a goal back deep into stoppage time, but it was too, little too late as Slot's first opportunity to win a trophy as head coach of Liverpool passed him by.

There were a handful of VAR interventions across the game, including a check to overturn the initial offside call given in the build-up to Chiesa's goal. There was also a penalty shout in the first half when Luis Diaz and Trippier battled for the ball and the Newcastle defender's hand appeared to take the ball out of the Colombia star's path.

READ MORE: What made Liverpool fume at final whistle as Federico Chiesa prompts Newcastle confusionREAD MORE: Alan Shearer sends drunken Liverpool message as former striker shows true colours at Wembley

VAR, which was led by Stuart Attwell, deemed Trippier's arm to be in an "expected" position and there was "no deliberate action" towards the ball. Many agree with that call, including ex-official Jeff Winter, who echoed that there was no intent with his actions.

"If that's a penalty kick, then the game has totally gone mad," the former Premier League referee told Grosvenor Sport. "The ball did sort of catch the end of his fingers, but there was absolutely no intent whatsoever.

"In my day, you wouldn't have given it a second thought. There's nothing to discuss on that one, in my opinion."

For Liverpool, they can have little complaints as they were unable to get going having also struggled through 120 minutes against PSG midweek. Slot's side didn't register their first attempt on target until the hour mark passed by at Wembley and managed just two on total across the game.

The players will now join up with their national teams for the first international break of the year before returning for the Premier League run-in in April. The Reds have a 12-point lead at the top of the table and need just five wins from their remaining nine games to clinch the club's second league title in a little over 30 years.

Read full news in source page