leedsunited.news

Ex-PL referee shares what the FA ‘law’ says about Leeds vs Everton penalty call

A former Premier League referee has criticised the decision to award a controversial penalty to Leeds United in their victory over Everton.

Lukas Nmecha stepped up to slot home from 12 yards as Leeds secured a well-deserved home victory in their season opener against Everton.

However, there was an element of controversy in the decision to award Leeds the decisive spot kick, with Everton defender James Tarkowski adjudged to have handled the ball. Despite Everton’s protests, the decision was backed by Jamie Carragher and Gary Neville after the game.

Although David Moyes praised Leeds after the game, he criticised the decision to award the penalty which ultimately proved decisive in a tight encounter.

Now, former referee Mark Halsey has backed up Moyes’ criticism of the penalty, stating that the referee made the wrong decision to award it.

James Tarkowski argues with referee Chris Kavanagh during Leeds United vs Everton

Photo by DARREN STAPLES/AFP via Getty Images

Former referee questions penalty awarded to Leeds United

Speaking on TalkSport Breakfast on the morning of the 19th August (just over three hours into the show at 9:05 am), Halsey criticised Kavanagh’s decision to penalise Tarkowski for handball.

According to Halsey, the position of Tarkowski’s arm did not go against the FA’s Law on handball, and the defender could not have done more to avoid contact with the ball. Asked whether the right decision had been made, Halsey said: “Absolutely no penalty in my opinion. I mean, you’ve got to look at Law 12.

“Has he made himself unnaturally bigger? Has he moved his arm deliberately towards the ball? And the answer to those questions is absolutely not. I mean, his arm is in a natural position, OK? If he moves his arm away from his body and the ball hits him on the head, then yes, you can justify a penalty.

MORE LEEDS UNITED STORIES

“But that is a natural position. And what’s he supposed to do? Where’s he supposed to put his arms? So for me, of course, you’re going to move your body, but he hasn’t moved his arm away from his body. His arm is still within his body. Law 12, handling the ball, that is not a penalty.”

What does the FA rule say about handball?

Although Halsey is adamant that Chris Kavanagh was wrong to award the penalty, opinion is divided over whether Tarkowski’s arm was in an unnatural position.

The IFAB rules on handball, which are then subsequently adopted by the FA and the Premier League, leave room for debate on the subject. They state that it is an offence if a player: “Touches the ball with their hand/arm when it has made their body unnaturally bigger.

James Tarkowski of Everton protests the handball awarded against him vs Leeds United

Photo by George Wood/Getty Images

“A player is considered to have made their body unnaturally bigger when the position of their hand/arm is not a consequence of, or justifiable by, the player’s body movement for that specific situation.

‘”By having their hand/arm in such a position, the player takes a risk of their hand/arm being hit by the ball and being penalised.”

Speaking on Sky Sports after the game, Neville argued that Tarkowski “knows what he’s doing” by leaning into the ball with his arm, whilst motioning to tuck his arm behind his back.

However, Tarkowski disputed this in his post-match interview.

Ultimately, Moyes would not have complained if Everton were awarded the penalty. To use an old football cliche, these things inevitably even themselves out over the course of a season.

Read full news in source page