Everton have already raised questions after their opening fixture against Leeds United in the Premier League, but Evertonians might be getting a sense of deja vu.
It wasn’t the start David Moyes was expecting, but decisions didn’t exactly go the Toffees’ way.
James Tarkowski found the penalty decision ‘bizarre’ as there have been plenty of questions raised over whether referee Chris Kavanagh made the right choice.
The result of the penalty means the Blues have been handed their first defeat of the season, and Richard Keys is baffled at Kavanagh not taking control.
With the argument being that Tarkowski leaned into the ball, which then hit his arm, fans might begin to look back on another Kavanagh controversy involving Everton.
Match Referee Chris Kavanagh during Chelsea vs Everton.
Photo by Ryan Hiscott/Getty Images
Chris Kavanagh’s Rodri penalty decision against Everton in 2022 raises more bafflement
Well, the verdict is that the Blues defender made the wrong move and handballed it, but let’s look back to 2022, when the Toffees faced Man City during their relegation battle under Frank Lampard.
What was seen as a must-win game was affected by the name mentioned, as this time on VAR, Kavanagh went against the Toffees, as Rodri was not penalised when the ball hit his arm in the penalty area.
MORE EVERTON STORIES
Rodri handball at 2:36
As it can be seen, like Tarkowski, Rodri leans into the ball, which therefore should have been a penalty.
Despite a lengthy VAR check, Kavanagh, who oversaw the decision, deemed it not to be a penalty, despite awarding a penalty for the same reason three years later.
Lampard was incensed by the decision, knowing the result would have implications for their possible status.
“I wanted to know if it was offside in the build-up because then it negates the penalty shout. It wasn’t. The referee was on the other side of it, which is fair enough,” Lampard said.
“So they got to VAR, took about two minutes to look at it, and to think Chris Kavanagh has not given that penalty, it strikes him on the arm. I’ve got a three-year-old daughter at home who could tell you that’s a penalty.”
🗣 “I’ve got a three-year-old daughter at home who could tell you that’s a penalty.”
Frank Lampard made his thoughts clear on Rodri’s controversial ‘handball’ 🖐 pic.twitter.com/JIZXYFqhcl
— Sky Sports Premier League (@SkySportsPL) February 26, 2022
View Tweet
Everton haven’t won with Kavanagh as referee since 2021, and it seems as though even when he’s on VAR, he has a decisive impact.
Things don’t seem to change, but the Rodri incident in 2022 makes you think about why the Tarkowski one was given, and this one wasn’t.
Chris Kavanagh ignored Premier League rule after what James Tarkowski said after Everton loss
After the incident against Man City, an apology was issued by the PGMOL, proving that the officials got this one wrong.
Jamie Carragher and Gary Neville approve the decision, so the same might not happen this time around, but it’s all about the inconsistency.
Tarkowski questioned Kavanagh in a post-match interview saying, ‘If my arm is by my side, is it a penalty?’ to which the referee said ‘no’, even though it can be seen the defender’s arm is down, ultimately ignoring the rule by giving the spot kick.
"The linesman gave it apparently. He was 45 yards away and I don't understand how can he see what I've done with my arm from the angle"
James Tarkowski says it was a 'bizarre' decision to award a penalty against him 🧐 pic.twitter.com/0p7NIzxTbN
— Sky Sports Premier League (@SkySportsPL) August 18, 2025
View Tweet
Who knows what he would have been thinking in the VAR room when Rodri’s arm was far away from his side, and Moyes will certainly question his authority moving forward.