Arsenal's Stina Blackstenius saw her goal cancelled in the 53rd minute when she converted a brilliant long-range shot. The Gunners stars were ecstatic as they started celebrating the equaliser, only to realise later that referee Melissa Burgin had given a free-kick against Blackstenius for handling the ball earlier.
Replays later showed that Blackstenius might not have handled the ball and rather moved her arm backwards while controlling with her midriff. Slegers was understandably furious as she added: "I had no idea [the goal had been disallowed]. The goal is scored, no one is calling for it, I turn around, the players are celebrating, the stadium goes crazy, it’s a fantastic moment, we celebrate shortly then connect with the tech staff on what do we do from here, what’s the plan going forward. Then all of a sudden I turn around and see somebody saying the goal is disallowed so I was very surprised."